10 IIMs get New Directors

Dushyant Vanaik updated on : 13 Feb 2017

10 IIMs get New Directors

With close to 13 Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) functioning without a full-time director for months, the vacancies have finally been filled. On Friday, the government appointed directors for ten IIMs. Neelu Rohmetra became the first woman to head one of the most premier management institutions in India. Prior to her appointment as head of IIM Sirmaur in Himachal Pradesh, Rohmetra was the director of the Business School, and founder director of the International Centre for Cross-Cultural Research and Human Resource Management (ICCCR & HRM), at Jammu University.

The vacancies were filled after the matter was raised in the Parliament, forcing the government to fill up the vacancies at the earliest.

IIM Bangalore's new director will be G Raghuram. He was a faculty member at IIM Ahmedabad since 1985 and became the dean (faculty) from September 2013 to December 2015. He is currently the chairperson of the Public Systems Group (PSG) at IIM Ahmedabad.

Here is a list of the directors appointed at each college:

These names were approved by the appointments committee of cabinet, which was headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The tenure for the new directors will be for a period of five years, or until they turn 65.

Also on HTCampus.com

Recommended articles

Leave Your Comments Views or Questions here