Indian Air Force Exam 2016 Dates Announced

Dhanshri Sharma updated on : 20 Jun 2016

If you wish to join the Indian Air Force, then get ready to take the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) on August 28. 2016.

If joining the Indian Air Force (IAF) has been your longstanding dream, then you can make it come true by taking the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) and Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT) 2016 this year on August 28.

The online registration for AFCAT 2016 started from June 4, 2016 and it will end on June 30, 2016.

Eligibility for AFCAT 2016

The Indian Air Force conducts AFCAT for the selection of officers in the following three major branches:




Flying Branch

20-24 years

3-year degree course in any discipline from a recognized University or B.E., B. Tech from any recognized university with 60% marks

Technical Branch

20-26 years

Graduated in B. Tech/B.E in Aeronautical/Mechanical/Electronics Engineering with 60% marks from recognized university

Ground Branch

20-26 years

Graduated in any degree with 50% marks.

The examination will be conducted to employ candidates for Short Service Commission (SSC) in Flying Branch and Permanent/Short Service Commission in Technical and Ground Duty branches.

Syllabus for AFCAT

AFCAT 2016, which is a multiple choice question test paper, will have sections like Verbal Ability, Numerical Ability, Reasoning, General Awareness and Military Aptitude.

The test paper will have 100 questions in total and each question will be of three marks, which makes it 300 marks of paper.

One mark will be deducted for every wrong answer in AFCAT 2016 i.e. three wrong answers will take away one correct answer.

EKT 2016 Syllabus

EKT 2016, which is conducted after writing AFCAT, will be a 1 hour long of test paper.

This objective type exam paper will have two sections:

  • Part A – General Engineering: 40 Questions
  • Part B – Specialist Paper for each Engineering discipline: 35 Questions

AFCAT Selection Process

Candidates who are short-listed on the basis of AFCAT/EKT will be called for further testing at one of the Air Force Selection Boards (AFSBs) at Dehradun, Mysore, Gandhinagar, Varanasi or Kancharapara.

The testing would consist of three stages as given below:

(a) Stage-I Test consisting of Intelligence Test along with other tests will be conducted on the first day. Stage-I test is a screening test and only those who qualify would undergo subsequent testing.
All Stage-I qualified candidates would be subjected to document check to ascertain their eligibility for the branches applied for.

(b) Stage-II testing consisting of Psychological test, Group Tests and Interview will be conducted on subsequent days (Five Days).

(c) For Flying Branch: CPSS (Computerised Pilot Selection System) and / PABT would be administered to eligible candidates.

Recommended articles

Leave Your Comments Views or Questions here