NEET 2017 to be Conducted in 8 Different Languages

Aditi Gupta updated on : 23 Dec 2016

Now, the Union Health Ministry will let applicants take NEET UG 2017 in eight different languages including Assamese, Tamil and Telugu. Read more.

NEET 2017 to be Conducted in 8 Different Languages

The NEET 2017 applicants will now be able to take the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test -UG 2017 Examination in eight different languages, according to the Union Health Ministry.

Besides Hindi and English, candidates will now have six additional languages, including Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu from the academic year 2017-18.

In addition to the above, the Union Health Ministry has said that all the candidates who qualify NEET will now be eligible for all India quota and other quotas under the State government and Institutions, irrespective of the medium  of instruction chosen by the candidates and other eligibility criteria.

This decision was taken by the Health Minister after rigorous and extensive consultation about the examination pattern and other exam related aspects with the State Government. This decision of bringing in regional languages as medium of instruction was taken so that the government could bring transparency and remove malpractices from the medical education system and bring parity among medical applicants.

The meeting was attended by the Union Health Minister JP Nadda, health Ministers and health secretaries of 18 state/union territories.

Recommended articles

Leave Your Comments Views or Questions here