NIRF 2017 – Institutions to be Ranked Basis Overall Excellence

Dushyant Vanaik updated on : 02 Feb 2017

Under NIRF 2017, institutions will be ranked on the basis of overall and discipline-specific excellence. Read further to know the details.

NIRF 2017

The National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) was launched by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) last year. NIRF is India's own top university rankings, and it will have a few unique features this year. The institutes will be considered for ranking based on the overall and discipline-specific excellence.

Professor Surendra Prasad, who is the part of the core committee developing NIRF, said that smaller institutes will get only the discipline-specific rank. He added that the universities will have to publish all the data for the viewing of stakeholders and the general public. This is done to reduce the possibilities of misrepresentation.

Last year, the selection parameters were divided into five main categories:

  1. Resources for teaching and learning
  2. Research and collaborative effort
  3. Graduation outcome
  4. Outreach and inclusivity
  5. Peer and stakeholder perception

Close to 20 new parameters will now be considered over these five heads. There will also be a greater thrust on quality parameters in research. The rankings methods will be similar to those in 2016. However, improvements will be made on the basis of last year's learnings. Professor Prasad said that the committee has tried to fine-tune the parameters for greater objectivity.

Another big change is the elimination of categorisation. All those institutes fulfilling the minimum student population criteria will be eligible for an overall rank, irrespective of their status or discipline. However, as mentioned, there will also be discipline-specific rankings for institutions that are unable to cater to the minimum student population.

This year, all the institutions will be given a common overall rank, independent of their discipline. In order to obtain this rank, the institutes will need to have a minimum of 1000 enrolled students. The institute also has to be centrally funded.

Top institutions with a single mainstream like Engineering, Medical, Law, Management, Pharmacy or UG Degree colleges in Arts, Science and Commerce etc. with less than 1000 enrolled students will be given a discipline-specific rank only.

Recommended articles

Leave Your Comments Views or Questions here