Railway Minister Gives Away 6th NCPEDP-Mphasis Universal Design Award

HTCampus Expert updated on : 23 Feb 2016

Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu gave away the 6th NCPEDP-Mphasis Universal Design Award.

NCPEDP- Mphasis Universal Design Award
The 6th NCPEDP-Mphasis Universal Design Award was conferred by the Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu at a simple ceremony conducted recently.
The award is given to individuals and organisations working to create and accessible and barrier-free society for those who are differently abled. There are some initiatives in this regards including a smart cane and other assistive technology developed by an IIT, Delhi professor; one stop resource app on disability; aviation industry’s first employee with disability, are worth mentioning here.
Javed Abidi, Director of NCPEDP, in his session had appealed the Railway Minister to take up the issue of accessibility of the country’s largest machinery. This includes railway stations and coaches with their websites and online systems accessible to people with disabilities.
List of Awardees
Category A: People who are differently abled
  • Abha Khetarpal, Delhi
  • Priti Shah Soni, Bhopal
  • Sandeep Kumar, Delhi
  • Simon George, Kochi
Category B: Working Professional Category
  • Archana Konwar, Demaji, Assam
  • Prof. M. Balakrishnan, Delhi
Category C: Organisations
Source: Natasha Tayal, HTCampus Specialist 

Recommended articles

Leave Your Comments Views or Questions here