• Establishment Year

    Just Up


    age = 9 years

  • university type

  • university NAAC grade


Available University Facilities

  • Classroom

  • Library

More about Central University of Kerala

Established in the year 2009 under the Central Universities Act 2009 (Parliament Act No. 25 of 2009), the Central University of Kerala has been founded on the vision of “caring wisdom” and follows the ideals of academic and social commitment. Since it is located on a very culturally diverse land, local resources are put to judicious and the best possible global exposure and education have been provided to the students. There were about 700 student enrollments in the academic year 2014-15. It is spread across 310 acres of land which has been allocated by the Government of Kerala in the year 2012. It consists of two transit campuses, the Riverside Transit Campus in Padannakkad and the Vidyanagar Campus.The University also opened two Centres, the Capital Centre at Thiruvananthapuram, offering an Integrated BA-MA Programme in International Relations and the Law Campus at Thiruvalla.


It consists of the following departments-

  • Department of Animal Science
  • Department of Bio-Chemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Department of Genomic Science
  • Department of Plant Science
  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Department of International Relations & Politics
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of English & Comparative Literature
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Law
  • Department of International Relations and Politics, capital center
  • Department of Malayalam
  • Department of Public Health and Community Medicine
  • Department of Public Administration and Policy Studies
  • Department of Geology
  • Mahatma Ayyankali Centre for Kerala Studies 

And these departments function under nine Schools, which are- School of Biological Sciences, School of Earth Science Systems, School of Economics, School of Education, School of Global Studies, School of Languages & Comparative Literature, School of Legal Studies, School Physical Sciences and School of Social Sciences.

Available College Facilities

The Central University of Kerala offers a lot of infrastructural facilities to its students to create a conducive environment for learning and they get better resources to get detailed and comprehensive information. Not only that, extracurriculars are also given importance. It has the appropriate infrastructure for labs so that the students not only grasp the theoretical knowledge but also practical knowledge.


Classrooms are provided to the students so that they are given a proper atmosphere to study in. All the courses are given proper rooms for studying. Central University of Kerala has two transit campuses, one is the Riverside Campus and the other is the Vidyanagar Campus. 


The Central University of Kerala has a library of its own which has a number of books for the students to study from. There is also an online library. The mission is “To provide comprehensive resources and services in support of the research, teaching and learning needs of the Central University of Kerala community. To provide high-quality services that meet and exceed the expectations of a diverse user community by using technology in an innovative manner for the flexible delivery of services and resources to users regardless of location.”

Facilities available in Library

  • Number of books
  • Number of online journals
  • Number of magazine subscriptions
  • Computerized library
  • Book bank facility